full screen background image
Winners of the Limpopo Ladies Closed Golf Championship show off their prizes after a hectic round of golf at the Polokwane Golf Club on Sunday. Koeksie Eager and Naomi Molepo, both from Polokwane, Marne van der Merwe from Koro Creek, Belinda Schutte from Polokwane and Cherie Siebert also from Koro Creek. (Photo: Supplied)

Women golfers shine on greens


Female golfers from the province and as far as Johannesburg engaged in a battle of clubs and balls during the Limpopo Open and Closed Ladies Championships played at the Polokwane Golf Club over the weekend.
In the A division golfers with handicaps of 9 and under played 54 holes while the B division accommodated those with handicaps of 10 to 18. The C division made provision for handicaps of 19 to 28 and the D division for 29 to 36 over 36 holes.
Woo-Ju Son of Johannesburg Country Club claimed a trophy in A Division Limpopo Open Championship with a gross total of 220 points beating Chiara Contomathios by two shots while Nicola Schoeman of Middleburg occupied the third spot with 173 points. Marne van der Merwe of Koro Creek finished in fourth place with 72 points with local golfer, Naomi Molepo settling in fifth spot on 56 points.
In the Limpopo Closed Championship, Cherie Siebert of Koro Creek emerged victorious after finishing with 266 points, followed by Belinda Schutte of Polokwane with 192 points. Van der Merwe was third with 72 points and Molepo fourth with 56 points. Local golfer, Koeksie Eagar was named the senior champion with 59 points.

Story and photos: ENDY SENYATSI
>>[email protected]

Limpopo Ladies Open Golf Championship winners pose for the picture with their prizes at the Polokwane Golf Club on Sunday. Naomi Molepo from Polokwane, Marne van der Merwe from Koro Creek, Nicola Schoeman from Middelburg and overall winner Woo-Ju Son from Johannesburg.

Chiara Contomathios prepares to putt during the Limpopo Ladies Open Championships on Saturday.

Elsune Roode drives the ball to the fairway during the Limpopo Open and Closed Championships.