full screen background image

Local MotoX riders excel


RC Myburgh
>>[email protected]

Capricorn Racing Club (CRC) hosted the fourth round of the National MotoX Championships on Saturday and using the benefit of their home track Janneman Potgieter, Darrell Lehman and Jason Jackman did not disappoint.
The day was filled with adrenaline rushing action on the race track for senior riders as well as the 50 cc short track which saw some competitive attitude among young riders battling it out for the number one position on the podium.
Potgieter finished overall third in the MX2-class. Lehman, MX3 master rider took the gold in the respective category while Jackman gave other riders in the MX3 veteran class a run for their money.
The MX1 class was ruled by Kevin Moran and Marnus Dege while Ricky Raaff, Marco de Vrye and Sorren Munks took the first three positions in the MX125 class.
In the MX50 cc Junior category Nathan Kuhn was unbeatable followed by Calvin Ashford-Smit and Kai Ormond in second and third position.
The MX50 cc Pro category was won by James Thompson, Luke Borchers and Lucas Venter. The MX65 category saw local female rider Mia Terblanche finishing in overall fifth position with Jonathan Mimi, Tiaan Degenaar and Lucas Venter ruling the category.
Local riders in the MX Pro Mini category, Duan Erasmus (2rd), Ryan Terblanche (4th), Tiaan Prinsloo (5th) and Baan van Zyl (6th) just came short in chasing the first two finishers Matthew Kruger and Mark James Carty.
The MX85 cc Junior category was won by Dalton Venter followed by Jean-Jacques Calvin. Another local rider Coert Erasmus achieved overall second place in the MX Support category with one point difference between him and the winner Dylan Jacobsen.
Female riders in the MX4 category excelled well with Amy-Leigh Sawyer, Kayla Raaff and Anais Steenkamp in the first three positions.


Franco Marias takes a corner in the MX125 category.


Nathan Kuhn keeps his balance around a corner. He finished first in the MX50 cc category.