full screen background image
Nearly 2 700 athletes start the annual Polokwane Marathon sponsored by Capricorn District Municipality.

Twins, former city runner take win at Polokwane Marathon


Nearly 2 700 athletes gathered at the old Peter Mokaba Stadium early on Saturday morning to participate in the annual Polokwane Marathon sponsored by Capricorn District Municipality (CDM) in conjunction with Polokwane Athletic Club.
Well-known twins Lesiba and Tlou Peu were the first runners home in the 10 km and 21,1 km open division for men respectively. Lesiba finished the 10 km in a time of 29:45 while his brother completed the 21,1 km in 1:06.28.
M Moketla was the first female athlete in the 10 km with a time of 37:17 while G Ramabela was the first woman across the finish line in the 21,1 km with a time of 1:34.16.
Former Pietersburg Road Runner (PRR) Calvin Malatji who now competes in Murray and Roberts colours finished first in the 42,2 km marathon with a time of 2:31.45 while J Netsithenze’s time of 3:26.45 earned her the first position in the woman’s category of the marathon.
CDM Executive Mayor John Mpe, setting the perfect example for people to maintain a healthy lifestyle, sucessfully participated in the 10km.
PAC Chairperson Pieter Pretorius said the race was once again a huge success and the large number of entrants proof of the popularity of the event.

Story and photos: RC Myburgh


10 km men
L Peu (29:45)
T Pilusa
E Ramohlale
K Fanyane (31:28)
C Lisole
L Mudau
L Mamabolo (31:58)
J Seomma
T Themba
E Gerber (48:48)
G van Emmenis
H Jannasch
B Sacco (44:04)
I Siska
10 km women
K Moketla (37:19)
N Shongwe
W Bophela
L Pretorius (45:41)
S Ramasubudi
H Rootman
J du Plessis (1:08.32)
E van der Merwe
C Marais
M Gafane (58:15)
F Roberts
21,1 km men
T Peu (1:06.28)
L Mapoto
M Malatsi
T Phago (1:15.38)
G Magoba
T Mashapo
R Mabotja (1:19.04)
A Baloyi
D Mafokwane
S Mabunda (1:34.12)
J Molokomme
T Sekete
A Masela (1:56.13)
T Moagi
21,1 km women
G Ramabela (1:34.16)
J Motanyane
L Venter
J Motanyane (1:42.58)
M Denga
M McKenzie (1:58.33)
L van den Dool
L Schoeman
S Coetzee (2:06.51)
G Calitz
M Moshobane
A Mamotoka (2:16.37)
D Mabotha
42,2 km men
C Malatji (2:31.45)
I Mmushi
C Maluleke
B Netsithenze (2:44.27)
H Mogala
S Muchunomusi
I Madibana (3:26.09)
M Manyaka
N Mabasa
D Kunjana (3:43.06)
P Mabotja
T Mbombi
42,2 km women
J Netsithenze (3:26.45)
H Geldenhuys
P Hughes
P Hughes (3:36.05)
E Opperman
D Mafona
M Magoshing (4:12.25)
E Erasmus
S van Heerden

Winner of the 42,2 km men’s open category Calvin Malatji is welcomed home.

First woman across the finish line in the 21,1 km, G Ramabela.

Capricorn District Executive Mayor John Mpe enters the finishing area after completing 10 km.

Tlou Peu celebrates his victory in the 21,1 km.

Lesiba Peu is first to finish the 10 km.

K Moketla keeps at top speed until the finish line. She claimed victory as first woman in the 10 km.

E Ramohlale takes third position in the 10 km.

K Fanyane is the first junior athlete in the 10 km.

First veteran athlete in the 10 km, Ludwick Mamabolo.

L Pretorius takes gold as the first veteran woman in the 10 km.

L Mapoto comes in second in the 21,1 km.

Grandmaster Bobby Sacco finishes first in the category with a time of 44:09.

Junior winner of the 21,1 km T Phago with runner-up G Magoba short on his heals.

R Mabotja is the
first veteran in the 21,1 km.

J Motanyana claims second place in the 21,1 km.

T Mmushi runner-up in the 42,2 km.