full screen background image
Kgashane Choshane, Chief Director Sport and Recreation at the Department of Sport, Arts and Culture and Kola Maila, Head of Communications in attendance during the launch.

Sport awards coming up soon


The province’s athletes, administrators, sport federations and sport loving public are looking forward to 29 September when the Department of Sport, Arts and Culture intends hosting its annual Limpopo Sport Awards at a venue in Polokwane.
Speaking at the event launch on Tuesday MEC Thandi Moraka indicated that individuals and organisations to be honoured will be drawn from all sporting codes and categories in the province, including persons who are differently abled.
The finalists in each category are:
Team of the Year: The u.19 junior bank angling team, Limpopo volleyball u.20 junior girls’ team and Limpopo Softball Senior Team.
Coach of the Year: Dinao Modirwadi, Thabo Molokomane and Malose Kekana
Sportsman of the Year: Hanru Botha, Chris Moleya and Tidima Kekana
Sport Administrator of the Year: Mashilo Matsetela, Atang Segodi and RN Mabitsela
Newcomer of the Year: Lucas Lamola, Tsedza Magula and Ndaba Nakedi
School team of the Year: Tshivhulana Primary School, Morwathebe Combined School and Monyong Secondary School
Developing School of the Year: Letaba Special School, Hasani Mninginisi Secondary School and DZJ Mtebule Junior Secondary School.

Story and photos: Herbert Rachuene

Thandi Moraka, MEC for Sport, Arts and Culture during the launch of the 2018 Limpopo Sport Awards in Polokwane on Tuesday.