full screen background image
Abel Rakoma, President of Safa Capricorn Region.

Seshego Stadium to host the Cosafa tournament


Seshego Stadium and the Peter Mokaba Stadium will be a hive of activity when teams from 16 Southern African nations converge on the city to participate in the 2018 edition of the Council of Southern Africa Football Associations (Cosafa) tournament from 27 May to 9 June.
It will be the first time the province hosts an event of this magnitude after the 2010 World Cup. The event was formerly hosted in North-West and Gauteng.
Abel Rakoma, President of South African Football (Safa) in the Capricorn Region said: “This is an annual tournament for teams from Southern Africa organised by Cosafa, inaugurated after the ban against the Republic of South Africa was lifted and the African Cup of Nations staged there in 1996. This year’s participating countries are Tanzania, Angola, Botswana, the Comoros, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia and Zimbabwe. The names of the two additional countries are to be announced in due course.
Zimbabwe has won the most titles with five wins followed by Zambia and South Africa with four wins each.
This is one of the biggest tournaments in Africa and we are looking forward to host an event of this magnitude,” Rakoma commented.

Story and photo: Herbert Rachuene