full screen background image
Ria Ledwaba, Safa Vice President lifts the SAFA Limpopo Challenge trophy for which four provincial ABC Motsepe clubs will contend.

Seshego Stadium to host Safa Challenge


Seshego Stadium is expected to be the centre of activity when the second edition of the South African Football Association (Safa) Limpopo Challenge soccer tournament is hosted there on Saturday.
The tourney will see four provincial development soccer clubs plying their trade in the ABC Motsepe League contesting for the
R150 000 cash prize and a floating trophy. The teams are Eleven Fast Tigers, Giyani Happy Boys, Ditlou and Dolphins.
Speaking at the launch of the contest in Polokwane last Wednesday, Safa Vice President, Ria Ledwaba said the event is a platform for players to showcase their talent and also attract big clubs in the country.
“We will have football scouts from various football teams in the country at the tournament. We have also invited Bafana Bafana coach Molefi Ntseki and national u.23 coach David Notoane to the event.”
She added that the event was also aimed at generating interests of grass roots soccer in the province and create more awareness about the ABC Motsepe League. “Most of the people in the province don’t know much about the ABC Motsepe league. We want them to come to the stadium in numbers and enjoy the spectacle, the raw football talent which will be displayed on the day,” Ledwaba said.
The ABC Motsepe League is Safa second division league, previously known as the Vodacom League between 1998–2012, was founded in 1998 as the current Second Division and the overall third tier of Safa.
It currently features 144 teams in total, divided into nine divisions decided by the nine provinces of South Africa.
Each provincial division contains 16 teams as standard. The winner of each provincial division qualifies for the annual Promotional Play-offs, where the winners of two streams, will get promoted to the National First Division.

Story and photo: Herbert Rachuene