full screen background image
Queen of the North 2019 (16-25 years): Katryn Celliers (Pageant Director), Sukoluhle Sibanda (Former Queen), Angel Mashimbye (1st Princess), Dichegofatjo Mosoane (Queen), Tamryn Terblanche (2nd Princess), Dedre Smith (Miss Public Choice) and Chaunte du Bruyn (Best Dressed Ice Queen). (Photos: Supplied)

Queen of the North 2019 winners crowned


Limpopo Beauty Modelling Academy hosted its fifth annual Queen of the North 2019 Pageant that was guided by the theme ‘Ice Queen’ at Bolivia Estate on Sunday.
The pageant is to promote beauty with a purpose and each contestant had to donate at least one Christmas present for a child in need at Ga-Maboi Drop-in-Centre and other charity organisations.
Pageant Director Katryn Celliers informed that they collected over 200 beautiful gifts to host a magical Christmas party for less privileged children and reiterated that the winners will be spoiling them at the official charity project scheduled for 3 December at Ga-Maboi Drop-in-Centre.
With 60 contestants battling it out for the ultimate prize of Overall Winner, it was the beautiful Wilita Lee from Mokopane who walked away with this amazing title and prize package. The top ten finishers in all the age groups received medals.
Celliers indicated that the aim of the pageant is to build confidence in young girls and to provide them with a platform to further develop their modelling skills, make a difference in the community and to become role models.
“The judges had a hard time choosing the winners as each of the girls gave a remarkable performance. Our judges were Kabelo Maditse (House of Asante Spa Manager), Nicole Powell (SA Beauty Modelling Pretoria) and Gail Mokwatlo (Miss Limpopo 2018). We had an astonishing 38 000 votes for our Miss Public Choice competition and the winner, Ohlotse Modise had the opportunity to choose between two prizes,” Celliers explained.
She added that Ohlotse chose the new Luvabella Doll which is currently taking the toys world by storm. The real lifelike interactive doll is not only rare but also very impressive with over 100 features, she said. The Miss Beauty With a Purpose Title was given to the model who donated the most Christmas presents for needy children and Abbygail Smit showed what a big heart she has.
Celliers thanked each and every contestant for all their efforts of helping the pageant make Christmas a memorable experience for children from impoverished families.
Celliers said “I am so humbled and blessed by the lovely support I received with this event, the entrants all brought expensive and beautiful toys, school shoes, clothes, bikes and much more which will mean the world to these children. We needed a second vehicle to load all the gifts. Thank you so much to every girl for their contribution, no act of kindness no matter how small is ever wasted.”
She concluded by thanking the sponsors Polokwane Observer, Bolivia Estate, House of Asante Spa, Limpopo Beauty Modelling Academy, Kiley Kreations Photograpy and Make-up.


The fifth annual Queen of the North Overall Winner, Wilita Lee.

Miss Beauty With a Purpose’19, Abbygail Smit.

Winner, Ohlotse Modise receives her Luvabella Doll from Pageant Director Katryn Celliers.

Little Queen of the North’19 (4-6 years): Katryn Celliers (Pageant Director), Makhotso Motloung (1st Princess), Phathu Tshivula (Former Queen), Ohlotse Modise (Queen & Miss Public Choice), Lehlogonolo Phasha (2nd Princess) and Larike Pretorius (Best Dressed Ice Queen).

Queen of the North Junior’19 (7-9 years): Katryn Celliers (Pageant Director), Lynnmarie Stroh (Best Dressed Ice Queen), Onthatile Mogadime (1st Princess), Paballo Selolo (Queen), Refiloe Dipela (2nd Princess) and Thato Tibane (Miss Public Choice).

Queen of the North Junior Teen’19 (10-12 yrs): Katryn Celliers (Pageant Director), Washu Hloabioa (former Queen), Vhulenda Mudau (2nd Princess), Wilita Lee (Queen and Miss Public Choice), Kamogelo Tisane (1st Princess) and Nikita Smuts (Best Dressed Ice Queen).

Queen of the North Teen’19 (13-15 years): Katryn Celliers (Pageant Director), Palesa Masimene (Former Queen), Thato Moyo (1st Princess and Miss Public Choice), Tokollo Masekoameng (Queen), Tshepiso Mphidi (2nd Princess) and Reneilwe Sekwakwa (Best Dressed Ice Queen).