full screen background image
Polokwane Athletic Club’s outgoing chairperson, Corrie Calitz with his successor, Pieter Pretorius.

Polokwane Athletic Club hosts prize giving, selects new chairperson


Polokwane Athletic Club (PAC) honoured its top athletes for their achievements during the club’s annual prize giving ceremony last Wednesday.
The club also selected a new committee which is to be led by Pieter Pretorius. Outgoing chairperson Corrie Calitz congratulated the athletes who received trophies during the event.
The top awards went to Rocky Majela (Ambassador’s Award), David Khubjana (Male Athlete of the Year), Santa van Heerden (Female Athlete of the Year), Pelly Lamola (fastest male Comrades and marathon athlete), Pearl Hughes (fastest female Comrades and marathon athlete, most improved female athlete) and Roan Hiestermann (best improved male athlete).

Story: RC Myburgh

Corrie Calitz with Susan van Heerden, the Female Athlete of the Year.

Rocky Mojela receives the ambassador’s trophy from Corrie Calitz.

Corrie Calitz with Pearl Hughes who was named the fastest female Comrades and marathon athlete as well as best improved female athlete.

Pelly Lamola, fastest male Comrades and marathon athlete. With him is outgoing chairperson Corrie Calitz.

Male Athlete of the Year David Kubjana with Corrie Calitz.

Corrie Calitz hands Roan Hiestermann the trophy as best improved male athlete.