full screen background image
Meet the newly elected executive committee of Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA). Front: Solly Chego (additional member), Nandi Ndalane (additional member), Soviet Lekganyane (Chairperson) and Makoma Makhurupetje (additional member). Back: Simon Mothoa (Secretary), Lehlogonolo Masoga (Deputy President), Polly Boshielo (President), Lindiwe Maseko (CPA Regional Chairperson) and Thoko Didiza (CWP Regional Chairperson).

Members of Lim Legislature elects CPA executive committee


The Speaker of Limpopo Legislature, Polly Boshielo was elected as the President of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA) Limpopo branch during its recent executive committee elections. Deputy Speaker Lehlogonolo Masoga was also chosen as Deputy President. Premier Stan Mathabatha was elected as Patron while African National Congress (ANC) MPL Soviet Lekganyane serves as Chairperson of the association.
According to Boshielo, the CPA is a diverse community of parliamentarians coming together to advance democracy and developmental agendas within their respective countries. It brings together parliamentarians and parliament staff together to exchange ideas with experts, and also benchmark best practices on good governance.
“Women who constitute the highest number in the world population were historically marginalised to participate in socio-economic and political activities. Recognising the need for increasing women representation in political institutions, the Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians (CWP) was formed at the 1989 CPA conference,” said Boshielo.
She further outlined that the Chairperson of CPA Africa Region, Lindiwe Maseko and Chairperson of CWP Africa Region, Thoko Didiza oversee the election process of the Limpopo CPA and CWP branch.
“As the Limpopo branch, our main objectives are to capacitate parliamentarians, in particular women parliamentarians, on parliamentary matters; promote the interests of Limpopo CPA and CWP branch within the Commonwealth Africa Region; and to strengthen women caucus and addresses gender disparity in the legislative sector,” explained Boshielo.
The additional members are ANC MPL, Solly Chego, Transport and Community Safety MEC Nandi Ndalane and Cooperative Governance, Human Settlements and Traditional Affairs MEC Makoma Makhurupetje.
ANC MPL, Rosemary Molapo was elected CWP Chairperson while former acting secretary of the Legislature, Simon Mothoa was elected to the post of secretary.