full screen background image
Aces batsman Nick Jardim from Aces in action against Seshego Cricket Club.

Local cricket teams endeavour to win league


While heavy rain interrupted several matches in the Limpopo Impala Cricket (LIC) Premier League the winning team is still to be determined within the next three weeks.
According to LIC Club and Facilities Coordinator Sedibu Mohlaba the 2016/2017 season will draw to an end soon.
“Over the last few weeks rain has played havoc as most games got abandoned, however, three teams namely Aces Cricket Club and Eagles Cricket Club both from Polokwane and the Tzaneen based Hornbills stand a chance to be crowned as winners of this season,” Mohlaba said.
Mohlaba added that the winning team of the Premier League will represent LIC at the T20 Multiply Community Cup playoff which comprises of Premier league winners from Easterns Cricket Union, Mpumalanga Titans and Northerns Cricket Union. The winner there will then represent the Titans Franchise at the Cricket South Africa T20 Multiply Community Cup later the year.
Mohlaba could not confirm whether the matches continued following some downpours on Sunday.

Story and photos: RC Myburgh

Thato Matshego from Seshego Cricket Club swings the ball during his bowling over.