full screen background image

EFF Student Command wins SRC elections at University of Limpopo


The Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF) in Limpopo has congratulated its student command for winning the 2019/2020 Student Representative Council (SRC) elections at the University of Limpopo (UL) yesterday (Wednesday).
The EFF Student Command (EFFSC) led UL in 2016 and 2017 before losing to the South African Students Congress (Sasco) in 2018.
EFF Provincial Chairperson Jossey Buthane was quoted in a media statement to have said: “The EFF would like to take this opportunity to thank all the students who voted for the EFF Student Command. We assure the public that they will work with all students to realize the manifesto presented during the elections campaign.”
EFFSC received 5 485 votes against Sasco’s 2412. “Our student body received 11 seats, Sasco 5, Students Union Christian Association 1 while the Students’ Christian Organisation (SCO) got zero. This is a landslide victory which gives decisive victory to the EFFSC, attest to the fact that UL is the home of the EFF. We call upon students at the University of Venda and other institutions of higher learning to celebrate this victory by continuing to vote for the EFFSC as it remains the only student organisation that truly represents the aspirations of the students,” remarked Buthane.
At Tshwane University of Technology’s (TUT) Polokwane Campus Sasco will lead the SRC for 2019 and 2020 academic year after winning with five seats while EFFSC settled for four seats during their elections held in September. .
University of Venda (Univen) will host their SRC elections today (Thursday) while Unisa Polokwane will stage theirs in August next year.
Rudzani Mpofu, Treasurer of Unisa Tshwane Regions said the reason for staging their elections next year August is that their SRC only serves for two years. “We are not like other institutions. Most institutions their SRC’s term of office is one year and with us is two years. Our current SRC was inaugurated in 2018 and their term will come to an end next year.”

Story: Herbert Rachuene