full screen background image
Members of Bushveld Model Racing Club with the trophies that they received for performance during 2017.

Bushveld Model Racing Club awards achievers


Achievers of Bushveld Model Racing Club received trophies during the club’s year-end function at the SA Breweries lapa recently.
In the Off-road category, the winners were Quintin Baker (Two wheel drive stock), Wikus Coetzer (Stadium stock, four wheel drive stock and touring stock) and Jaco van Eeden (Two wheel drive modified and four wheel drive modified). Dirk Badenhorst (Tamiya), Wikus Coetzer (Touring stock), Heinrich van der Merwe (Four wheel drive) and Renier Smit (Four wheel drive stock and touring modified) were the winners in the On-road category.
Club Chairperson Dawie Lessing said that the club currently has 30 active members, the youngest member being 13 years and the most senior member 56 years old. “The cars are battery operated and members enter club championships that are held monthly in the on-road and off-road categories. “We currently have no female members in our club, but all are welcome to join.
A new club will open in Tzaneen next year and will provide opportunities for us to compete with them,” Lessing said. He can be contacted on 083 627 4751.

Story and photos: BARRY VILJOEN

Chairperson of Bushveld Model Racing Club, Dawie Lessing and Treasurer, Pieter Janse van Vuuren with the chassis of one of the model cars that are used by the club.