full screen background image

BREAKING NEWS – Bus bombing – five remain in custody, deceased identified


The five suspects arrested in connection with the bombing of a bus and subsequent death of six of the 50 mineworkers it was carrying at Driekop outside Burgersfort last Monday, briefly appeared in the Mecklenburg Magistrate’s Court today (Thursday) after which the case was postponed to 26 April for formal bail application.
Provincial Police Corporate Communications Head Motlefela Mojapelo indicated that Sipho Khumalo, Aubrey Remos Tjie, Thabo Mokgala, Philimon Makwana and Kgaogelo Moime face six charges of murder, attempted murder and malicious damage to property.
This follows an incident last Monday evening when a bus from Segweka Bus Services, collecting Modikwa Platinum Mine night shift workers in the area, was allegedly set alight at Driekop between 20:00 and 21:00. Twenty eight mine workers sustained burn wounds while six burnt beyond recognition.
The deceased were identified through DNA analysis as Moniccah Mabilo (57) from Ga-Mahlokwane, Johannes Malepe (56) from Driekop, Ziphora Makuwa (48) from Driekop, Solomon Komana (37) from Ga-Mahlokwane, Simon Mahlokwane (42) from Ga-Mahlokwane and Pheta Ranku (58) from Lesotho.

Story: RC Myburgh