full screen background image
Female Athlete of the Year, Ninette Roos.

Athletic club honours performing athletes


After a year of hard work, long hours practising and several running events, including the Comrades Marathon, successfully completed athletes of Polokwane Athletic Club (PAC) were honoured at the club’s annual prize giving ceremony last Wednesday.
Hennie de Klerk was named Male Athlete of the Year and Ninette Roos Female Athlete of the Year while in the category for athletes 50 years and older the winners were David Kubkana and Monica Erasmus. Kubjana was also honoured for best attendance at time trails and Erasmus received the award for best improved female athlete.
The title of best improved male athlete went to Tedius Forotiya who was also named most improved runner during time trails and fastest male marathon athlete.
Melanie Melville also won two categories, fastest female marathon athlete and best female Comrades athlete. Andries Malete took home the title of best male Comrades athlete. Mike and Pearl Maruma are the fastest Comrades couple.

Story: RC Myburgh

Male Athlete of the Year, Hennie de Klerk.

David Kubjana as male Athlete of the Year, 50 years and older and best attendance at time trails.

Best improved female athlete and female Athlete of the Year, 50 years and older, Monica Erasmus.

Best improved athlete, most improved runner during time trails and fastest male marathon athlete, Tedius Forotiya.

Best male Comrades athlete, Andries Malete.

PAC Chairperson Corrie Calitz with a Pagasus Award for the most done to promote the club.