full screen background image
Kenyan Jenniffer Koech is the first woman home in 48 km marathon.

Athletes run for cancer survivors


Road runners from as far as Kenya and Zimbabwe joined local and national athletes on Saturday morning when they competed at the SA Run 4 Cancer Ultra Marathon Limpopo at the new Peter Mokaba Stadium.
The 48, 32 and 21 km races started from near Moria on the R71 and finished at the stadium while the 10 km run and 5 km fun walk/ run commenced at the stadium. This event is a qualifier for both the 2020 Two Oceans and Comrades Marathons.
The first man home in the 48 km was Sikhumbuso Seme in a time of 2:47:33 followed by Morena Dijana in a time of 2:50:13 while Thobile Mbolekwa completed the race on the third position in a time of 2:50:40. The women’s 48 km category was won by Jenniffer Koech who crossed the finish line in 3:24:59. Chiyedza Chokore was home in 3:27:27 with Landi Maclean settling for third in a time of 3:36:15.
The 32 km marathon for men was won by Tebogo Pulusa who completed in 1:44:49. Victor Pheeha who came in two minutes later at 1:47:13 while Stanley Mofu completed the mission in 1:48:13. The fastest runner in the same distance women’s category was Christine Kalmer who crossed the finish line first in a time of 2:10:20 with Rene Kalmer claiming the second spot in a time 2:11:44 and Ethel Sibanda third in 2:21:26.
The competition was tough in the 21 km race as the first athletes home were separated by seconds. Sibusiso Nzima took the lead and finished in a time of 1:03:41 while Matthews Leeto came in two seconds later and Mthobisi Baloyi crossed the line in a time of 1:04:07. The first woman home in the same distance was the Comrades Marathon champion Charné Bosman who finished the race in 1:26:22 followed by Agneta Nyabuto and Glender Ramashia 1:27:00 and 1:35:52 respectively.
The 10 km for men was won by Phuti Sethowa (30:57) followed by Graham Malinga (31:14) and Samuel Manamela third (21:22). Farida Zwane outcompeted her opponents in the same distance as she finished first in 37:49. She was followed by Nompumelelo Shongwe in a time of 43:19 while Elsebe Cronje finished third in 43:21.

Story and photos: ENDY SENYATSI

Athletes hit the road with hopes to win prizes.

Sikhumbuzo Seme crosses the finish line first in the men’s 48 km marathon.

2016 Comrades Marathon winner Charné Bosman is the female winner over 21 km.

Sibusiso Nzima takes the lead in the men’s 21 km race.

Chiyedza Chokore from Zimbabwe finishes second in the 48 km marathon for women.

Morena Dijana celebrates his second place in the men’s 48 km marathon.

Democratic Alliance national Spokesperson Solly Malatsi is excited to have completed the 32 km for men.

Simon Mogale who completed the 21 km race.

Freddy Greaver urges residents to support SA Run 4 Cancer Ultra Marathon.

Lehlogonolo Rakolo leads the race.

A bus of athletes arrives at the finishing point.